--by Rick Westerman
We operate using Bill's version 3.05 moderator and the FAQ found
on the Depot
with the following rulings and clarifications. In particular note
rulings #7 and #8 which affect train purchases. They are more in
line with how other 18xx games function. IMHO, there are enough
various English translations of the 1835 rules to back up any point
of view regarding train purchases. It really shouldn't matter what
rules we play with as long as we are all clear on the rules ahead
If there are any other clarifications you think need to be made
then please make them ASAP.
Until the next player submits his turn revised moves may submitted
by the current player.
Corrections to the move due to moderator errors should be pointed
out as soon as possible. In general after 4-5 new moves have been
submitted it will be difficult to fix such errors.
The moderator will automatically make a company's run as large
If the PR doesn't operate then its stock price is not adjusted.
The PF and NF token-laying powers can only be used during the
company's token-laying phase. This means the NF cannot be
used to give the BY two quick tile lays north of Furth-Nurnberg
in the first operating round; the BY must lay its tiles before
it can lay the NF token.
The BA will lay its first token during its first operating round
and not during the stock round as with other companies.
If a company purchases a train from another company then the
first company can only use its cash on hand for the purchase. It
may not use any money from the director.
If a company doesn't have a train and is forced to purchase a
train then the company can either purchase any second-hand train
(from the Bank Pool or another company) or the cheapest new train
in the bank. If purchased from the bank pool or the bank then the
director's money can be used to supplement the company's money. If
purchased from another company then only company money may be used,
as per ruling #7.